A Carol Symphony, 4th Movement

Victor Hely-Hutchinson



Product Description

View PDF

Victor Hely-Hutchinson is best known for his Carol Symphony, composed in 1927, from which the third movement was used for the title music of the 1943 Children’s Hour and 1984 BBC children’s television adaptation of John Masefield’s The Box of Delights, in particular the variation on the theme of The First Nowell. The first movement is based on O come, all ye faithful, with the second movement being based on God rest ye merry Gentlemen. The third movement includes The Coventry Carol and The First Nowell, with the final movement concluding with Here we come a-wassailing and a return to O come, all ye faithful. The movements may be performed separately. This arrangement for Concert Band adds not only another new seasonal offering, but a very strong piece for advanced bands around the world.

0 reviews