Magnificat 4. Et misericordia

John Rutter



Product Description

View PDF

Et misericordia (And his mercy [is on them that fear him from generation to generation]) is the fourth of seven movements comprising John Rutter’s setting of the biblical canticle Magnificat, completed in 1990. The melody is first sung by the soprano soloist, repeated by the choir. A motif alternating a measure of six undulating eighth-notes and a measure of one long note dominates the movement. Rutter was inspired by “jubilant celebrations of Mary in Hispanic cultures” and conceived the work as a “bright Latin-flavoured fiesta”. In countries such as Spain, Mexico and Puerto Rico, feast days of the Virgin are joyous opportunities to take to the streets and celebrate with singing, dancing and processions. This arrangement for combined Concert Band and Chorus may also be performed by band alone, and is a faithful representation of the original composition.

0 reviews