Magnificat 5. Fecit potentiam

John Rutter



Product Description

View PDF

Fecit potentiam (He hath shewed strength) is the fifth of seven movements comprising John Rutter’s setting of the biblical canticle Magnificat, completed in 1990. The movement begins with irregular energetic rhythms with the basses singing a short call which dominates the movement. The other voices join from the lowest to the highest, only then is the thought continued in bracchio suo [with his arm). Rutter was inspired by “jubilant celebrations of Mary in Hispanic cultures” and conceived the work as a “bright Latin-flavoured fiesta”. In countries such as Spain, Mexico and Puerto Rico, feast days of the Virgin are joyous opportunities to take to the streets and celebrate with singing, dancing and processions. This arrangement for combined Concert Band and Chorus may also be performed by band alone, and is a faithful representation of the original composition.

0 reviews